What computer games did you play in the 1980s?

Assuming you were gaming then, or even alive. I cut my teeth with Jumpman, Spy Hunter and some sort of balloon balancing on unicycle game (I can’t remember the name). This was on a Commodore 64. I graduated to Ultima III, which really opened my eyes to the future potential of gaming. Starflight and its sequel came and went, and then Balance of Power on my first IBM PC. Microprose helped me kill a lot of my teen years with games like Crusade in Europe, Pirates, and Apache Gunship, as did Origin with the Ultima series and New World Computing’s Might & Magic games. I also remember text based wargames from a Canadian company, focusing on WW2. I can’t remember the names, but I know one was about Kursk. Oh, and SSI’s Red Lightning and Pool of Radiance. Talk about classics.

If I had to pick one to experience again, it’d be either Ultima V or Pirates. Pirates was the game where I first experienced the wonders of EGA graphics. 16 colours, amazing.

Wizardry 1-3 were fun.

The Bard’s Tale

Space Rogue

I had a C64 and was a hardcore pirate back then, or rather, I copied a casette tape from a friend, with 400 games on or such. My favorite games there were International Karate+ and Invasion Normandy, an SSI game I think, which was bloody brilliant.

Yeah, Wizardry was fun at the time.

My favorite game of all time, per the tech level, came out during that period, too: Sun Dog. I’m sure it doesn’t hold up today (apparently the author is thinking about porting it forward to some modern platform), but at the time it was great. One of the earliest hybrid sandbox games that let you either do what you wanted or move forward with the story. Silly 2D space combat mode, but it was fun mixing and matching spaceship parts.

Conan on the Apple ][e. Run around, throw swords, jump. It was fun times!

Also the Goonies game for the Commadore 64, including a rad chiptunes-style Cyndi Lauper soundtrack.

Are we talking PC games only?