What game system for 9 year old girl?

I could really use some insight here please. I have very little experience with game system since the Atari 2600. It’s been all PC games for me. My daughter’s been playing a friend of her’s old Playstation and she seems to really like it. So, what the hell is out there now? Dreamscape, Playstation, Xbox, Gamecube and what else? I haven’t paid attention to this kind of stuff ever. I really don’t want to spend $500 on the the absolute latest and greatest but whatever is 2nd best would be cool. Pros and cons, opinions, etc - all welcome. Thanks again.

I would suggest Reality 1.0, it’s not the latest platform, but has a pretty good track record. I especially recommend the “Parks”, “Fishing”, and “Daddy Pays Attention” expansiond packs, while they don’t have the latest graphics, they do seem to have staying (read>>replayability) power.

I would recommend a DSlite (nintendo) or maybe even the Wii when in comes out next month.

Wow, who put the quarter in CindySue? There’s been a posting burst of beatiful sarcasm today, from a relatively limited poster.

DS Lite is the best Option…worked for my 9 yr old

Actually, you might consider the original DS, which is more durable, IMO. If you want something for the whole family to play together, look into Nintendo’s new system, the Wii, which comes out on November 17th. It’s part of the “next gen” but won’t break the bank as badly as some of the other new systems, and should be great fun for all.

What games has she playing on her friend’s Playstation?

I would get a Gamecube or Nintendo 64. The DS is a great system and probably the best choice, but I’m a little wary about portable video games for kids. As someone who owned a Gameboy during his developmental years, I really think don’t think having games available at all times is healthy. The Gamecube/n64 can be more easily moderated and the games are fun and mostly geared towards all ages.

I’m on board with delirium.