What was your first programming language?

Saw this question over on Slashdot and thought it would be an interesting discussion to have here. What was your first programming language? How about first at school, or at work?

My first language was Commodore Basic on a C-64. Self-taught, that one, via the manual and magazines like Commodore Power/Play.

In school, my introductory CS course used Pascal. That was in the mid-90s, and my class was one of the last to use it. A couple of years after I took it they ditched Pascal and switched to using Java.

At work, my first assignments used LotusScript to create and modify Lotus Notes applications. I’m stretching the definition of “programming language” there, I suppose, since a lot of the work was playing around with UI elements, with only a fairly small amount of scripting behind the scenes. I did very little else for the first couple of years of my consulting career, though.

First for me was also C64 basic, self-taught. After that, years later, SQL and Visual Basic. Then I got really into generative art and learned a ton of Processing, picking up some regular Java along the way. Following that: Ruby (on Rails), HTML/JavaScript, Obj-C, C++ (through openFrameworks), Python, C#, and Swift. I spend most time in Python and HTML/JavaScript with a lot of SQL thrown in.

I fondly remember the early days of entering Basic programs into the C64 from various magazines.

I attended high school back in the late 70’s. My school offered two programming courses. One was called “Data Processing”, and the “Computer Science” (or something like that as my memory for those details are a bit hazy).

The data processing course was the first computer programming I had ever done. We used a language called SPL (Student Programming Language) which apparently was derived as an extremely simplified offshoot from PL/1. The follow on course in the next year used PL/C which was a version of PL/1 used for teaching developed at Cornell for teaching.