What would have to happen for someone to make a real X-COM successor?

As a PCG editor, I know something about games in development and plenty about finished games, but I know very little about the process of getting one off the ground. I’m particularly curious about why no one has had the [brains? balls? initiative? gumption? pixie dust? hookers and blow?] to make either an X-COM 2 (TFTD was a glorified expansion, and I choose to pretend none of the other games bearing the name ever happened) or a decent clone by a name of their choosing. You know, one that the fans don’t have to finish for them.

I know it all comes down to dollars and cents, but are publishers really so frightened of losing money on a remake of a game that shows up prominently on the top 10 games of all time list (if not THE top game) of pretty much any PC game critic who actually played it? I can’t believe that confidence in turn-based games is so low when the Civilization franchise is still going strong, Heroes of Might & Magic V did well enough for an expansion, and you still see upstarts like GalCiv doing well for themselves.

I may be wrong about this part, and if so please fill me in, but wouldn’t a game like X-COM be relatively cheap to produce, even after a respectable level of polish, if you just licensed a half decent engine? There would be a lot of art to do, I suppose, but if you stick to the original design concept of randomly generated maps, you get a ton of replayability out of relatively little. And if you went with an anime-inspired art style, maybe even cel shaded (kind of an homage to the original game’s opening cinematic) you could get around a lot of the expensive and time-consuming process of making things look realistic.