What's the best mystery series (that I can watch right now)?

I’m feeling really in the mood for a high quality tv mystery series. I don’t feel too picky about what the setting or time period are. I just don’t want to have to sift through a bunch of mediocre episodes hoping to get to a great one. I want the highest possible level of consistent quality.

Also, I want it to be streamable right now for free. Which appears to put Columbo, for one, out of the picture.

I have a subscription to Amazon Prime, a Hulu account, Netflix, and Acorn. I think the latter gives me access to Poirot, as well as Miss Fisher, Foyle’s War, and some of the others folks have been talking about here lately (the Canadian one, and the New Zealand one?).

But which is the cream of the crop? If I have a hundred other things I want to watch, which one is least likely to waste my time?

I’m no mystery expert by any stretch, but given your criteria, I’d suggest Doctor Blake over Miss Fisher or Murdoch. I love all three, but the tone leans toward the more serious end or less whimsical end for Blake. For a more limited series, my wife suggests Bletchley Circle.

My vote is for Miss Fisher. As a point of personal preference, I always bounce off Foyle’s War a bit, every time I’ve watched. Miss Fisher has terrific casting, huge budget production values, and some terrific dialogue and scripting. And there is a knowing, sly tone to things that can come off as breezy and funny at times…but there’s a depth to it all that reveals as the series progresses.

Would The Wire count as mystery?

BBC Modern Sherlock with Cumberbatch is on Netflix - that was a lot of fun

Jeremy Brett Sherlock Holmes series, if you haven’t seen it. Impeccable period detail, amazingly accurate and evocative portrayal of the Conan Doyle works, and fantastic acting. Makes today’s Sherlock look like a CW series:

Foyle’s War is so good! The 90 minute episodes can make it tougher to squeeze in an episode, though.