Will upgrading from Windows 7 to 10 cleanse my system?

My old Windows 7 installation is a mess. I can’t install new video drivers. Windows Update doesn’t update. Microsoft Security Essentials never seems to download all the new virus definitions. I can’t install the Epic Games installer. The system actually does most of what I want it to do: work, games. But these security-related things are increasingly alarming.

Would upgrading to Windows 10 cure these things? Or would it be a waste of $140?

The real solution is to build or buy a new PC, as I’ve been threatening to do for two years now. But I procrastinate, because I’m chea… thrifty. Also, I like my current installation of Adobe CS3, and I fear that I’ll have to pony up for Adobe’s expensive subscription model to run Photoshop, which I use every day.

Any thoughts or advice?

AFAIK you can still use your Windows 7 key to activate Windows 10. I did it last year. No need to buy a new copy if that’s still the case.

There’s a lot not working, and the end-of-life on Windows 7 is part of that. Not sure when all the stuff started going wrong, but upgrading to 10 is a good first step.

Also to answer your question: yeah, it’ll likely fix your problems. Windows 7 reached EOL last month, so it’s time to upgrade anyway.

Thanks for the replies. I’d actually found that Forbes free-upgrade thing, but it sounds too good to be true. I guess I’ll find out.

Thanks again. I guess I’ll go for it.

If it doesn’t, you should be able to get a grey market Win10 Pro OEM key for more like $30. I can’t vouch for anywhere though, as when I installed Win10 it just activated itself. This was despite most of my hardware changing at the same time I upgraded from Win7.

The thing that annoyed me most about Win10 compared to Win7 was that searching from the start menu now searches the internet rather than just your start menu. This gives it a notable lag. To fix this and some other annoying new features, I recommend Open Shell.