WoW: The new Alliance race

So we already know that the new Horde race coming in the expansion is the Blood Elf. There seems to be a general consensus that this is A Good Thing, as it will likely bring more players the Horde side; something greatly needed on the majority of servers where Alliance severely outnumbers Horde.

But I really want to know what the new Alliance race will be. I don’t even have that many ideas as I’m not an expert on Warcraft lore, but I’d love to hear some thoughts/suggestions from those who are…

I have a horrible, horrible feeling it will turn out to be the Pandaren.

Ugh.

Heh, a lot of the people on the WoW boards seem pretty happy about the idea that it might be the Pandaren. So hard to tell if they’re being serious, though…

Sis-in-law, who has WoW’d since the very dawn of WoW, sez that a couple devs on the WoW forums said that Pandaren were planned but wouldn’t happen since they couldn’t sell the expansion in China – it’s illegal to have representations of Panda murder in China. I dunno how they sold the Warcraft 3 expansion over there, then, since you could have Pandaren heroes.

Since then, the rumor has been Murlocs, for the gimpy EQ Frogloc set and for the kooky jokesters out there, but I don’t put much stock in it since it would require a whole new set of armor models. Still, better than virtual cosplay fodder for the cretinous furry folks, I say. It’ll probably be some Tauren-esque “giant” race, though.

Did I mention how much I love China?

Anything but Murlocs.

I’m desperately hoping it will be Murlocs.

It won’t, but it would be awesome if it were.

Otherwise maybe worgen or furbies?