Writing a seven with a bar through it

For the longest time I would write the number seven with a bar (or cross) through it. I don’t know why.

Then I read an article somewhere (possibly Slate.com) that implied that there was something revolting and reprehensible about writing a seven with a bar through it. According to what was essentially a side note in the article, if you did this you were either completely ignorant or you were a cretin.

All I could find was that the “crossed seven” is more of a Eurpoean dealio but I don’t have any idea why it would generate such vitriol.

Anybody have any idea?

I’ve done it since the 3rd grade. I also cross my z’s. Makes things easier to read.

Because it’s a European thing and that’s not the way we do it in the good ol’ U.S. of A.

I’m a 7 crosser too… no idea why, or even when I started it - but I’ve been doing it for over 12 years… I haven’t even been to Europe yet.

I’ve always done that. But I grew up in Ireland and England, and that’s the way we were taught.

(I was recently given a copy of that brain training game for my DS and have been having an awful time trying to not cross my sevens, as it makes the machine angry.)

I was never taught it here, but I’m a messy writer so I adopted it a few years back to make the 1s and 7s distinct.

I cross my zero’s now.

Ya, me too. And man, do I hate the arguements made that having good handwriting and being able to type are signs of superior intelligence/ability.

I do it, but I was never taught to. I was having a problem distinguishing my 7s from my 1s, and my zs were too rounded, so I started doing it with both. I have no idea why anyone would argue that it is crass. I don’t cross my zeroes, but I can see why someone would, at least in some cases. Did the article explain the problem?