Writing better code: The self taught coder

At the start of this year I decided being ok at vbscript, VBA and SQL wasn’t enough and I was going to learn proper code. For my sins I picked VB.net and I’ve been pottering along, going to google here, buying a book there and cobbling together workable code.

The past few months has bascially been an excercise in re-writing all the stuff that books and sites told me do before I learned the next concept up, OO techniques in practice, for example, were a bit of an eye opener.

I suppose what I’m looking for is less a tutorial or even a code specific reference than something covering the underlying principles of designing/writing decent code/applications. If it matters I’m coming from a direction of wanting specifically to design/code apps that talk to Databases.

Any suggestions?

For OO techniques, the book Design Patterns by the Group of 4 is still pretty much the definitive reference.

If you’re looking for more info on designing enterprise applications, I would suggest you google the following topics:

MVC (Model Controller View) architecture (and variants of)
IoC (Inversion Of Control) architecture
Service Oriented Application architecture

Those’ll keep you busy for a while :)

Thanks for the link Talisker. I’m not a software developer but I’m starting to work with one on some small projects. I’m sure the scope of the book includes larger stuff than what I want to do, but I’m sure it will be helpful for me to understand better how the exact process works.

Definitely read Code Complete first.

Very few “self taught” coders ever end up being very good in my experience. The reason is that Computer Science programs generally teach the analytical thinking process much more than they teach any specific language.