WTF? Stock options get taxed double?

Bear with my Internet- income tax noobishness, but this is my first time doing this.

Last summer, I exercised a bunch of non-qualified stock options that my company had granted to me. I sold it through a sameday cashless exercise

It looked like the brokerage took some of that profit away to withhold as income taxes. Great, I thought, it’ll be on my W-2 and I won’t owe any more taxes! All was well.

But as I start stuffing numbers into Turbotax, it seems as if I have an additional requirement to pay short-term capital gains tax on that profit. So I’m ending up paying both 28% income tax AND 28% short-term capital gains tax on the profits from that sale?

Is this how it’s supposed to be, or am I missing something?

That’s not how it’s supposed to be. You should only be paying tax on it one time, probably at 28%.

The brokerage likely withheld 20% (that’s typical), so you’ll still owe a bit more, but you shouldn’t be paying 28% + 28%.

Of course, these are the situations where you may want a real tax preparer or accountant, not a $20 piece of software.

In a case of exercising a nonqualified option with immediate cash out, only income taxes should apply. The situation only gets screwy if the option is exercised and then the stock is held. If the stock is held a person owes income tax on what they would have gotten on an immediate cash out, and they may qualify for capital gains or losses depending on where the stock goes from there.

As always, internet advice is just that. Seek qualified opinions before using internet advice to prepare taxes.

It’s like your normal paycheck, Roger. They withhold some taxes in advance at the behest of the IRS so that at the end of the year you’ve already paid in quite a bit of what you owe. That 28% (they may have withheld 28% exactly due to some kind of failure to certify your SSN… hey it happens) ought to be counted on your income taxes as money you’ve already paid in.