X3 - 'Meh'

Ok, so I listened to people cheerleading the X series, and got a copy of X3 as a birthday present. Im a big fan of elite, and expected something along those lines. I didnt play X or X2, Im new to it.
‘Meh’ kinda sums it up. There are just too many reasons to lose interest here. Firstly, there doesnt seem to be any real tutorial, just some tooltips that come up seemingly randomly. Really important stuff, like how to engage the autopilot or how to review mission objectives, just arent explained.
I go through two jumpgates, then my briefing makes no sense. “head towards the south gate” errr… what south gate? Im now stuck, no hints, no help, and havent even fired a shot or docked anywhere yet.
The game uses starforce, which doesnt bring much of a cheery smile to my face, insisting on a reboot, and an ever present DVD. Thankfully startup and load times arent too bad.
Performance wise, its dire. I’m running a 2.8ghz 1.5gig RAM 6800 GeForce setup, which laughs at battlefield 2, yet strains badly at low res under X3. what gives? Graphical options are minimal, and turning off the ever present annoying voices is an exercise in futility.
Yes it looks nice (in an eve online kind of way) but the interface is clunky, and newbies are basically left to get on with it. I suspect there may be a deep game under here, but lifes too short to fight against the game to find it.
Is it just me?

Nope. It’s me too. I’m struggling with it, but really I’m just trying to get my moneys worth out of it and waiting for Civ IV to get here.

I don’t have it yet, but from everything I’ve read, it’s not just you. I was on the X3 promotional bandwagon too after promises from the developers they’d fix all the things you just complained about. I’m embarassed I started that thread seeing that much of what was prmised has yet to be successfully implemented.

That said, the developers are pretty good at post-release support so it may just need time to “mature” via patches.