Xbox Dashboard 2012 - Now More Metro Than Ever

This has begun rolling out today. Anyone get it yet? Two week roll out, but my Xbox hasn’t gotten it yet.

Big new features:

Dashboard tweaked. More Metro… errr, Modern UI… than ever
IE9 now, so you can browse.
Smartglass goes live on the 26th, so you can surf aforementioned IE9 using your tablet.

I’ve been using the beta for a couple months maybe? Like you say, it’s pretty much just more. More blocks or panes or whatever you want to call them. I didn’t find it a significant upgrade, though there is now a web browser if you feel like you need to check out the Internet from your 360. So, you know, no huge leap but no harm done, is my review. And now you know why I don’t write tech reviews.

I’ve had the beta for a few weeks. It’s okay. I’m still not thrilled at how much real estate is wasted on ads and cheesy BS, but it’s an improvement over the last version. The best thing about it is the ability to “pin” favorites to the separate box.

Netflix U/I still sucks ass, but I guess that’s an issue for Netflix since they wrote the app.

IE functionality is decent, but pales in comparison to the browser in Steam’s Big Picture mode. I still don’t see what all the fuss was about when people were insisting that they absolutely needed a browser on their TV screen. I’d rather use the iPad on the couch.

“Man, I wish I could browse the internet on my gaming console”, said nobody ever.

If you have a Gold membership.

I still don’t see what all the fuss was about when people were insisting that they absolutely needed a browser on their TV screen

Who were these people? Youtube yes. Browser, no.

I don’t know, but it was a common refrain from people comparing the PS3 and Wii to the 360.

Go check Google with “why doesn’t the XBox 360 have a web browser” and count the hits. (About 2,010,000 results.) Or try “I want a web browser on the 360.” (About 16,800,000 results.)