You guys ruined Bloodlines for me!

Ok, I’m pissed. I was playing Vampire: Bloodlines, and I really loved it. Then I got to Hollywood, and I remembered that everyone said the sewer section at the end of that really sucked. Suddenly, the game became less interesting as I started to dread the upcoming sequence. I even put off playing for a few months. Well, this week is nearing Halloween, so I started playing again. SPOILERS I beat up the Tzimisce (whatever spelling) in his basement and immediately went into the sewers. I though…uh oh, here we go.

And you know what!? It just isn’t that bad. It’s not even hard, though I did use a walkthru to get past that one drain where you flip the switch and swim fast to beat the fan. Other than that, the sequence was not hard. There were lots of those damed little monsters, and I was low on bullets. So I punched them…a lot, and they died. I have a strength of one or two (I’m tremere) and I didn’t use boost at all. There were some bigger monsters too, and I used some blood powers and a few bullets on them. But there were plenty of rats to replenish my blood.

So what the fuck? Why does everyone hate that sequence so much? I’m in Nosferatu land now and didn’t have a bad time getting there at all. Oh, I had to sneak past some places because there were baddies on little pipes, but I managed…and my Dex is one.

Why does everyone hate that part of the game so much?

Played as Ventrue - can’t eat rats.

And even with the walk-through, it took me 10 tries to make it through the underwater part.

Yeah, it took me 5 or 6, and it was VERY annoying. But that’s like a few minutes and not the main complaint I’ve heard about the sewers. It’s always been about the monsters and excessive combat.

Played as Malkavian = relies on mental abilities to get past most situations. Unfortunately, the final third of the game relies on combat, combat, combat, so I was fucked and then some.