Your Daily McMaster: how do League of Legends?

Title Your Daily McMaster: how do League of Legends?
Author Jason McMaster
Posted in Features
When August 6, 2013

What is League of Legends? I've written about the game for years, but I've never thought about how to describe the game to an absolute newcomer. Until today. After the jump, I would like to introduce you to my friend Tibbers....

Read the full article

As a total newb, I don't understand the controversy surrounding the "last hit" rule. I know some MOBA games require it and others don't, but I'm clueless as to why players so fiercely stand by on or the other rule.
Also, I love the name "jungler." I want that to be be my X-Men codename.

Well, last hit as you're describing it is probably the confusion. All of them, as far as I know, have last hit mechanics. People get hung up on "denying" more than that. Denying is the ability to kill your own troops to deny the gold to the enemy. It kind of sucks.

I'm pretty sure if denying weren't a co-incidental feature of the original dota, no one would really care about the issue. However, as it was there and provided a benefit, people have practiced / gotten good at it and its became a test of fidelity to the original game. While I'm not a particular fan of the feature (I'd rather focus on other things), I can understand that people want to keep something they've spent time at becoming good at. And given that people have a choice (want denying, you have dota 2 and HoN, if you don't want it, there's LoL and other smaller outfits), I'm not sure there's really too much to argue about.