2405fpw consolation. Is this ghosting?

Picked up 2405fpw for cheap, arrived yesterday. HDTV clips play nicely. Then I fired up Mount and Blade to test movement (fastest thing to load hehe). Immediatly noticed weird motion blur and thought this must be what people mean by ghosting. It looks like the 6 million dollar man when they did the special effects and he went really really fast by going really really slow.

Disclaimer: I’ve never used any sort of LCD for gaming before. I’ve been using a Diamondtron 22" CRT a few years, and pretty much cheap CRTS before then. At work I use LCDs but have never played any video clips, or done gaming on em.

I’m trying to justify my purchase and hoping I will get used to it. The defect must be in the human interface! The reviews I saw on the 2405 mostly say “zero ghosting”. I am annoyed I fell for it.

Now the interesting bit is I can run two decently-sized windows side to side. Looking to see if there’s a quick shortcut app I can use to tile two windows quickly. Say you 5th button click the windows. The last two windows you 5th click are automatically tiled on the screen.

12 23 34 scheme or perhaps something like 12 32 34 54 56 76 78 98

I have the 20 inch version and there is no ghosting.

Unless Dell is now using cheaper panels, you might have a defective one?

I’ve never seen any ghosting on the 2405.

The only thing I do with my LCD is turn on Vsync so games don’t run faster than 60FPS. If they do, you get some visual tearing on screen.

Check this flash animation out:

http://www.prad.de/en/monitore/ghosting2.html

This seems like the easiest test for ghosting online. Watch out for the pop-up ads though.

My CRT at work, for reference, has no ghosting but does exhibit some tearing. My new LCD has little tearing but, even though listed as an “8ms” moniter, shows almost as much ghosting as my old 25ms moniter. At least in this particular test.