Alienware PCs

We’ve had a lot of discussions about Alienware lately and as the owner or purchaser of many of their machines in the last five years, I have a lot of experience with them. I recently got an R12 from their Aurora line and I turned over the R5 from that line to my son last night. In doing so, we spent a little time inside the old computer.

What follows are photos from inside both the R12 and the R5. The R5 is five years old and we opened it to do a dusting which hadn’t been done in quite some time. I have never had one problem with the R5. It’s been upgraded to 24GB of RAM. Everything else is 100% stock. It’s been used heavily by myself and three teen boys over those five years. Rarely was it turned off.

First the R5… my son took these so the angles aren’t the best…

Mainboard

Roof above mainboard

Swing out power which provides a blurred look inside

Below the GTX1070

Now here’s the new R12 that was savaged recently in a review…

Roof and mainboard

Another angle

Below the RTX3080

Looking upward showing they now have two fans on the 3080 instead of the one on the GTX1070.

Gee. That looks pretty similar.

The pictures speak for themselves. Until I opened up the R5 again last night, I didn’t realize just how similar the designs are. All the components are current, but the design is essentially the same. Similar cooling. Similar positioning of components. The mechanical hard drive is sideways at the top front on both of them. You can see it with the light blue plastic in the first R12 photo. The swing out power supply covers the processor on both the R5 and R12. Fans at the top of the case and the front as well as on the power supply handle heat evacuation nicely.

If in the next five years I have problems with this computer, I will report it. I have had none so far with the R12 and expect none, same as three Auroras of the previous design we own have had none.