Arduino?

Just getting myself into microcontrollers with the goal of creating a mini-pinball machine and a hand-held video game system. Of course, at this point (1 hour in) I’ve only managed to breadboard an LED that turns on with a button, so I have a long way to go. If anyone has any tips, I’d love to hear them.

I don’t have any specific tips but I do a lot of embedded system programming.

These days mostly in Go on ARM devices but also sometimes in C on smaller microcontrollers like the atmega chips.

Funny hobby (that occasionally intersects with my day job).

At work they dumped an Alpha MCU prototyping board on my desk and said “have at it!”. I think Arduino is a bit easier to get into…

Have you taken a look at the Ada Fruit stuff yet? I’m just getting into Raspberry Pi, and its where I spend a lot of my time. http://learn.adafruit.com/category/learn-arduino

CCZ, how do you like Go on embedded systems programming? Better than C? I just started messing around with it at work too, and would have never thought to use it for embedded work, but now that you mention it, it seems like it’d be perfect.

Depending on what you know for programming, look at the Netduino as another option. Same exact hardware design, but runs the .NET Micro Framework. I love it. C# is way better than Processing.

Go is great on any platform you can get away with using it, in my experience. Way faster to write code in than C, the Go compiler is much faster than C compilers to the point where running the Go compiler right on the embedded device is often an option (and where it isn’t, it is really easy to cross-compile Go code).