Chef's choice

I’m celebrating my 40th birthday tonight at one of my favorite restaurants. I go there about once every other month and I wouldn’t say I know anyone there, but the wait staff might recognize me and my family; I certainly don’t know the chef. Anyway, when I was thinking about what I wanted to eat, I decided that I should do something different, so I’d like to have the chef prepare something for me. I’ve never done something like this, so I don’t know if there’s any etiquette I need to know beforehand. I’d like to just tell him to go crazy, but I’d like to keep the price under control and I don’t like seafood. Should I just be a good patron and go with the menu?

I’m no expert on the restaurant business, but I’d say go with the menu. Having a favorite chef “go crazy” could be interesting, but I suspect you would need to provide plenty of advance notice and a budget, so that they could design a proper menu and purchase the needed ingredients.

It would sort of depend on the kind of restaurant, but yeah, I’d say if the chef isn’t familiar with you, it’s a little unreasonable to just sit down and say “surprise me”, without any advance notice. You’d probably just the day’s special, which is fine, but nothing custom. Tonight is a little short notice, but I don’t think it’s unreasonable to give them a call sometime in the morning, and run it by whoever answers the phone. Just say what you said here: “I don’t know if you can do this on short notice, but would it be possible to have the chef choose a menu for us tonight?”

It depends on the restaurant, some might have a prix fixe option that you never order, you could just do that, or, just order whatever all the specials that day are if they have any.