CoH 2006 GOTY FTW

I’m not sure any more needs to be said than that. Company of Heroes is 2006 Game Of The Year.

It finally arrived yesterday, and I wound up having a true Quarter To Three experience. Which has a bitter cost when your wonderful baby wakes you up at 6 (and happens to cry out in her sleep between 3 and 4!).

The Computer Games review said that this seems like the game Relic has always been working towards. (Why else is Relic’s logo video a submerged WWII mine?) And I have to agree. This game has a sense of accomplishment and confidence that outstrips anything else I’ve played this year. The way the in-mission maps fade from hand-drawn arrows and X’s to the main tactical view… the flak lighting up the night skies… the anti-tank cannoned trucks tipping over and bursting into flames… I’m only on mission 3 and I can already tell there’s basically no competition for it this year.

I always wanted to get into Combat Mission. But I’m a WWII tactics newbie, and no one had told me about Closing with the Enemy, and it just took so long to command my guys what to do and to then see the outcome (it’d take like 10 minutes just to cross the map, by which time my guys were generally in the wrong spot). In Company of Heroes, it’s got the Relic easy and fast interface, you can put them right where you want them in realtime, pause it anytime you like to adjust to new stuff incoming, then set it all rolling again and watch the mayhem. I’m thinking about strategies continuously in the back of my mind. I am jonesing to get back to it tonight. I’m putting all my other projects aside until I get some major satiation. I already can’t wait for the expansion packs.

This game is pretty much the realization of cinematic tactical WWII combat that just about any gamer who ever played with plastic army men and little trucks has always wanted.

GOTY if ever there was one.