Domain logon takes forever

Two computers here at the office are identical Win 7 machines from Dell. Mine takes about a second and a half to log on to our domain in the morning. My co-worker’s can take three or four minutes. Every single time. Both users are set up identically (as far as I can tell) in Active Directory on our domain controller.

I can’t figure it out. I’m far from an expert on these things, though. One “fix” I’ve found googling this is changing the desktop to a .jpg instead of a solid color is supposed to speed up logging in, but all of our desktops already are .jpgs. Any idea what I could check on his machine?

Same thing in safe mode? In Windows 7 I had to do some command line nonsense for response times from the server, but nothing regarding login I’m afraid.

Do you guys use roaming profiles?

Just a couple things I pulled off the intarwebs:

"Hey guys

I was having the same problem with Laptops in my domain, I disabled offline file synch and straight away the login time went from about 10 minutes to 30 seconds!

Are now using Windows Sync Toy."

And…

"Morning Folks. I’ve been trying to solve this issue for awhile now. It affects mostly laptops users because of “site switching”… Home, work, public areas, different LAN and Wi-Fi networks.

It seems to be affecting Domain computers only… The solution I found was to reset your domain password (Either from Machine or AD) and reboot. Your login should now be back to normal.

I have a feeling that the local cached credentials get “out of sync” and takes longer than usual to log on.

This fix has been applied 4 times to my users computers and it seemed to fix the problem.

I’d like to hear feedback if this fixed your issue."

I had to look up roaming profiles, but I don’t think we use them. I know if I logon to a different machine using my information, I don’t get my desktop and files.