Got a new TV, now I need speakers. (Home theater?)

I just picked up a 46" Regza from Best Buy for about $1100, and now I’m looking to get some kind of home theater setup to hook up to it. I’m pretty new to this sort of thing, and I could use as much help as possible.

I will be looking to connect a 360, PS3, PS2, and my media PC to the system, and I don’t really care about iPod conenctivity. I can’t ever get too loud, at least in my present apartment, due to living above and below people. I don’t want to have wires running all over my living room for rear speakers, either. My main priority is bang-for-buck performance, and I’ve got a price range of right around $500 or so. I don’t need a DVD player in the system, obviously.

I saw this Pioneer system at Newegg for $500 and got pretty excited about the savings over old retail cost, the fact that I don’t have to have rear satellites for surround (though I’m sure it would work better with them) and that kickass external display. I actually bought it and then cancelled the order right away, afraid that my impulsiveness was getting the better of me. If I can spend less than that and get something that will work, I’d like to, but the Pioneer setup is just so … shiny.

Help me, hivemind! You’re my only hope!

Tech level: noob audiophile

I’m looking at the pictures. It has 3 HDMI inputs in the subwoofer itself. It looks like a highly integrated sub/receiver system.

I would personally not recommend a home theater in a box system if you ever get the urge to expand and upgrade.

An alternative with a budget of $500 would be a receiver, a center and stereo speakers. Surround is overrated IMHO. If you do go this route make sure you know what HDMI passthrough means. Last I checked the more affordable receivers use HDMI passthrough. It means only video goes on the HDMI so you’ll need to run even more sets of audio cables into your receiver.