Help me buy a DSLR camera

Yeah, I know this question has been asked more than a few times on here already. I’ve read pretty much all the camera threads on this forum that I could find and have looked at lots of other resources around the web, but I’m still having a tough time with this decision

This will be my first SLR camera and my budget limit is somewhere around $1200 for the total package (camera, bag, memory card, additional lens if the kit one won’t cut it, not sure if there’s anything else essential to start). I’ve pretty much ruled out Canon because I didn’t find it to be very comfortable to use. I think I’ve mostly got it down to the Nikon D40 (or D40x maybe), the Nikon D80, and the Pentax K10D.

The D80 seems like a wonderful camera, but I feel like it might be a little bit out of my budget once you add all the extras into the cost. I am willing to spend more if it is really worth it, but I’m new at this and am not exactly sure how much the quality improvements of the D80 justify the cost compared to the D40.

Then we have the Pentax K10D, which is apparently comparable to the D80 but less expensive and has some nice extra features like stabalization and weatherproofing. On the downside, I’ve read that it doesn’t perform as well at high ISO settings, it is slower to process pics, and lens upgrade options are kind of limited for the Pentax brand. I’m not sure how much any of those things will affect me.

I’d love some feedback on what you folks might recommend. I’m not dead set in these 3 options, so if there’s something else you might recommend, please feel free to throw it out there.

If it’s your first DSLR, buy the cheap one. It’ll be more than good enough for you, and by the time you know what you want it to do that it doesn’t do, there’ll be better ones out anyway.

Very sound advice. With the one caveat being that you are likely going to be locked into whatever system that you buy in the first place.