How many games is too many?

I’ve been playing games for many, many years, and have collected quite a few over the years. However, I don’t play games as much as I used to – though I still love 'em – because the need to escape isn’t as strong as it once was. However, I still keep the games themselves…heck, I still buy new ones if they’re cheap enough. Even after selling and trading many over the years, I was wondering the other day if it was possible I had too many. I therefore counted all the games I actually own (i.e. pay for) on disk and through digital distribution. The final count was 237.

Now I’m wondering…do I need all these games? Why do I hold onto them? Is it nostalgia? The thought that one day I might have all the free time needed to play all these games? Is it my form of a security blanket of sorts? And if I have so many, why do I keep buying them?

So let me ask y’all…is that many games just too damned many, in your opinion? Or am I wrong? I look forward to your answers, and thank you for your time. ^_^

It’s no different from keeping a library of books. Chances you’ll go back and read every one of them? Fairly slim, but you have attachment to them, nonetheless, because of the experience they provided. Granted, books never require you to keep antiquated “reading machines” hanging around in order to enoy them again, but the idea is the same.