I'm opening a gaming store!

[Note: I cleared this self-promotion with Tom!]

TLDR: I’m opening a board game/RPG/TCG store in the Denver metro! Opening 10/20!

Some of you already have seen this on Facebook but I wanted to share with the community at large and tell my story: I’ve been a professional software developer since graduating college in 1998 (electrical engineering degree). After 20 years of this, I’ve come to loathe working in corporate America. Mission statements, pretending to be ‘agile’ while still locking in deadlines and features, endless meetings, glass ceilings on career advancement, etc. I still do it on a daily basis because it pays the bills, but I have no job satisfaction and am very burned out.

I’ve had a turbulent past few years, losing both of my parents (my mom in 2011 and my dad in 2015) and going through a divorce also in 2015. The upside was that I inherited some money and that has had me looking and planning for a way to escape my corporate job and do something I love. After looking at lots of various franchise options (I got pretty far talking to Jimmy John’s before deciding I didn’t want to make sandwiches all day) and working on business ideas, I came across a gaming store franchise that is doing quite well (about 40 stores and growing). This was early this year (January or so). Lots of due diligence and planning later, I’ve finally secured a lease and am opening a store of my own. While a single store won’t provide enough income to replace my corporate job, I’m hoping this turns into a few stores and I can quit entirely in the future. I’ve never taken a large financial risk like this in the past but am really excited about the possibilities.