iMac as a Windows gaming machine?

So, I’ve got a new job with a nice chunky payrise[1], and I’m looking at buying one of the top-of-the line iMacs to replace my four-year old AMD 64. I’m a complete Mac newbie, so these will no doubt be damn fool questions?

Two questions:-

a) How easy is it to set up a dual boot Vista/XP?

b) What’s hardware compatibility like?

c) what’s the graphics setup like in the iMac?

[1] Still, a PowerMac’s above my budget…

BTW, my main gaming’s done on a 360 these days, so AAA FPSes aren’t a priority any more…

a) Easy
b) Everything works
c) It’s “ok” – like a laptop with non-integrated video

I have an iMac, I use it every now and then to play games (just like you, the 360 gets most of the attention). AAA FPSes are out of the question, but it works for pretty much everything else.

For a), it actually depends on if he wants to retain OS X as well. If so, then setting up a triple-boot system is a bit messier, needing a tool like rEFIt.

I use my iMac (Summer 2007 model) to play Portal at the highest resolution, dual-booting with Boot Camp into Windows XP. It works great.

The biggest problem is that I find that often I don’t want to reboot into Windows. But that’s a personal issue, and not a technical one.

If you are playing older games you can get away with either native games (small selection) or hardware virtualization (only DX8, costs extra).

Or you can install Win XP and dual boot. My pal plays LOTRO on his new iMac with the graphics set to ‘tits’ and it runs great.

$80, and they’ve recently gone directx9.

However, while iMacs are OK for gaming, bear in mind that 1920x1200 native res if you’ve got a larger model.

a) Easy.

b) Apple provide the drivers for all their stuff, everything else is pretty standard.

c) Very average.

RISE FROM YOUR GRAVE