In which I may be done with MMOs

A point of background: I’ve been playing MMOs since EQ in 2000. I’ve played WoW since launch, other than a few months here and there. I may not have played WoW a lot, but I kept the sub active. For a number of years I was the MMO guy for PC Gamer magazine, which was a great gig.

WoW is starting to get old. I actually like Legion a lot, but the end-game slog is setting in. I’ve thought about leveling my alts, but said “fuck it.” I then figured I’d dust off one of the other MMOs, like LOTRO. LoTRO’s “kill 10 bears” bother me in a way that WoW’s “kill 10 bears” doesn’t. But, of course, killing 10 bears is what’s stopping me from leveling my alts.

I’ll play TESO, but it’s too much unlike WoW for me to like it. Talk about doomed: if the game is like WoW, I don’t like it. If it’s not like wow, I don’t like it. Some of TESO is the Bethesda-ness of it. Guild Wars 2 I found interesting, and is one I might keep plunking away at it.

I blame my PS4. Working through Uncharted and The Last of Us have introduced me to some wonderful characters, and dammit, story is starting to matter more. Which is why I liked the SWTOR expansions. They played like a good single-player campaign and I’d let the sub run out after I finished the story.

A lot of it’s just being busy with grad school. The thing I like about MMOs is I rarely get stuck on a quest like I do in a fight on a single-player game. I’m not playing WoW enough to justify the sub fee. I’m really enjoying playing games sitting on my couch downstairs watching TV. I might screw around with Neverwinter on the PS4 since it doesn’t require a PS Plus sub to play.

EDIT: I’m Mac-only now, and running games like SWTOR in an emulator is pain. I always feel like I’m one patch away from the whole thing breaking.

People still play those?

Guild Wars 2 and The Elder Scrolls Online are the only ones I dip into every now and then.