Let's talk grills and grilling

For years we had a Weber gas grill, and this summer we replaced it with a nice, large charcoal grill. One of those big black ones that looks like a gas grill, made by Master Forge. We did not get the smoker add on (the box on the end.) It has a nice smooth, well made handle you can turn that moves the charcoal platform up and down quite a bit. It’s not super expensive, but we’ve enjoyed it a lot. Ah, here it is:

http://www.lowes.com/pd_404331-95393-MFJ576DNC_0__?productId=3878738#img

We use charcoal that is actual charcoal chunks, rather than briquettes, and use different types, still experimenting. Also toss in various wood chunks for smoking different flavors (e.g. hickory, apple, maple, etc.) One learning: we used the chimney starter rather than starter fluid, and it was a pain in the butt. However, a friend who is really into BBQing recommended this chimney starter:

And it made a HUGE difference.

I’m still learning how to best cook on this. The standard burgers and sausages are pretty easy, of course, steaks are also great (though still learning various techniques for best flavors) but things like fish and even chicken have been more challenging. For the chicken, I think we just need to make thinner breast cuts (challenging to get a thick one fully cooked all the way through while not overcooking the outside, even with the meat on the side of the charcoal pile.) I’m also still learning temperature control, e.g. how do you get the grill to 350 and then keep it there.

ANYWAY - this thread is for any and all grilling tips. tricks, and Q&A!

Chimney starters are magic. I need to replace mine, however, as it’s rusting out. If anyone has a recommendation for a not-too-expensive stainless chimney starter that has a door on the bottom so you can drop the coals out without pouring, I’m all ears!