My Dad's Top Five Movies

So someone in the games forum linked to a pic from the film Jeremiah Johnson, one of my old dad’s favorites and that has inspired me to start this thread.

First, a brief blurb about my dad, then top 5 movies, and maybe a couple of “special awards”. Feel free to share your own remembrances of your own dads/parents.

My dad was born in 1922, died in 1993 (I was the youngest by a ton) and was a devout Jehovah’s Witness, who defied the draft in WWII and served 2 years in federal prison for it. He was a house painter by trade, social conservative, economically liberal, and loved Westerns.

His top 5 would have been, in no particular order

Jeremiah Johnson: a classic survival/proto-Western with a great performance by Robert Redford.

Big Jake: not typically considered the top movie by The Duke, but my father’s particular favorite.

The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance: it’s got James Stewart, The Duke AND Lee Marvin. What else do you want?

Raiders of the Lost Ark: It reminded him of the pulp films he loved as a kid in the 30s, and he particularly liked the Wrath of God ending.

Big Country: an epic Western with Gregory Peck.

Special Awards: favorite fistfights:

He particularly enjoyed the fight between Charles Bronson and Robert Tessier in Hard Times, and the fight between John Wayne and Victor McLaglen in The Quiet Man.

This is an easy one for me.

Indiana Jones and The Temple of Doom

Underworld

Mars Attacks

Me, Myself and Irene

Event Horizon

My dad is a strange fellow. I have no reasons, other than I just know those are his five favorite movies. Because he watches them over and over again.

My dad was also born in 1922 and absolutely loved Fred Astaire and Gene Kelly:

Singing In the Rain
Swing Time
On the Town
42nd Street