NASA's New Plan For Mars

I posted the above as part of an off-topic discussion in the P&R forums. (I flagged my own posts, but ¯_(ツ)_/¯) Yesterday, NASA released its National Space Exploration Campaign Report, which purports to show how NASA intends to take stepping stones to Mars over the next three decades.

I’m not an expert, so can’t evaluate it as one, but to me this feels like the kind of hand-waving report I’d generate when asked to make a 5 year plan at work:

• Make early decisions…
  • Decision on a date for…
  • Decision to begin…

• Based on early results of …

• Based on results of…

• Based on results of…

• Based on results of…

Note the captions on the following image:
https://www.nasa.gov/sites/default/files/thumbnails/image/earth-moon-mars_2018-2.png

In the report, that image is found on page 5, but all three of the captions instead say “America Will Lead”, which kind of captures the general tone of the report. It’s clear who this was written for:

In December of 2017, President Donald J. Trump signed Space Policy Directive-1 (SPD-1) . . . "Beginning with missions beyond low-Earth orbit, the United States will lead the return of humans to the Moon for long-term exploration and utilization, followed by human missions to Mars and other destinations.” (emphasis added)

The nationalistic tone is repeated throughout the document:

NASA also advances new technologies in aeronautics and space systems that allow American industry to increase market shares and create new markets.

American leadership and commercial innovation, centered in part on the U.S.-led International Space Station, is starting to unleash a new economic arena.

America has been the unsurpassed leader on the Red Planet. American robotic craft are the only ones in history to successfully land on Mars.

etc