Nashville Cats

Going to Nashville on Friday:

Any recommends for food or music or fun? We’re going just for the road trip, leaving Friday and returning Sunday. We will certainly hang in the honky tonk bar area and take in the live music, but are there any places we shouldn’t miss? Is the Grand Ole Opry a must-see or something else? Thanks!

I love Nashville and need a break from Thanksgiving, so wall-of-text incoming:

I have been making a trip or two to Nashville every year for a few years now. I sometimes plan to move there, but who knows if that will ever happen, especially since it keeps growing and not developing the infrastructure necessary to support itself.

Anyway, the food culture in Nashville is fantastic. It’s probably hard to make a wrong choice unless you’re really unlucky. Some personal recommendations I can make: Martin’s BBQ (downtown) is very good for barbeque, Black Rabbit in downtown has good small plates; Biscuit Love in the Gulch neighborhood (downtown adjacent) is great for breakfast. For stuff a little pricier there’s Etch near the middle of downtown which makes for a good place to start an evening; City House and Rolf & Daughters are both revered Italian restaurants in the Germantown neighborhood (also downtown adjacent); Tree House in east Nashville is trendy and not terribly expensive (I think it’s a little overrated but most people who go there love it); Husk on the far end of downtown does traditional Southern food with a modern twist; it might sound crazy in a landlocked state, but Henrietta Red is a very good oyster bar with nice vegetarian options, at least according to people I know who are vegetarians (also in Germantown). If you like cocktails, Patterson House in Music Row is superb and on par with the best bars in New York and New Orleans. There are some other good cocktail bars too, but I won’t inundate you with them since you didn’t ask for bar recommendations. Nashville is obviously a great city for bourbon.