Need book recommendations for wife

Gave me wife my e-reader and she asked me to recommend some books. She’s not into reading sci-fi/fantasy or warfare which eliminates my expertise (although she loves watching Star Trek, Fringe, Stargate, etc). Her favorite author is Ken Follett but she has finished all his books. She is not into romance at all, but I suspect she likes a strong female protagonist (she’s a litigator by trade).

So any good book recommendations that would appeal more towards female readers?

Given that she likes Ken Follett, she might go in for some Umberto Eco, particularly The Name of the Rose and Foucault’s Pendulum. On the other hand, neither of them features a strong female protagonist and both engage in a large amount of obscurantism.

Does it have to be fiction? If not, Wild Swans by Jung Chang might be a good pick.

If she likes historical epics, there’s always Justine by Donatien Francois. It’s pretty good.

Haha. Just kidding. I doubt your wife would like Justine. But if she likes historical narratives, you might try Erik Larson’s Devil in the White City, which I brought up over in another thread. It’s a (more or less) true story about two men, one who is bringing the 1893 World’s Fair in Chicago to life and another, a serial killer who uses the fair to lure victims do their deaths.

Or if you’d like to try and lure her toward fantasy, there are plenty of historical novels that sneak in fantasy elements. Tim Powers’ The Anubis Gates is pretty good for that.

Depending on her threshold for romance elements, the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon is pretty good. I’m on the third book and have been enjoying them, even though I don’t normally like romance. It has a very strong female protagonist, but the first book does have her sexing under every other heather bush in Scotland.

But when she isn’t boinking her new husband, it’s a great look at 18th century Scotland, and the second book goes to France as well.