Planetside Technical / Performance Question

So I’ve been running PS for a bit over a week and its been a good performer on my system, although I do encounter some server lag from time to time. Also, it seems to be a memory hog as alt-tabbing in and out is VERY slow and the HD seems to chug a lot after I quit the game (implying that the game is sucking up a huge amount of HD space for virtual RAM, but I’m not technical enough to know if this is true.)

However, overall the game performance is fine. But last night I got the Air Cav cert and have tried flying the Mosquito and Reaver. In VR both were fine, but I tried recently on 3 different continents in real combat and I am getting brutal lag. Its a very choppy kind of lag, not the kind of sluggish framerate lag I would associate with a weak video card, and not the “whole world freezes” of server lag. It specifically occurs when I turn - I will turn 30 degrees, freeze, wait 5 seconds, then turn some more, then freeze again. It makes dogfighting and aerial combat a huge pain. In fact it makes it nearly impossible.

Now I’ve been able to fly the Lib, Lodestar, Gal, and drive all the ground vehicles without problem. And I have NO problem when on foot, etc. This appears to be Mossie/Reaver only, but I’ve tried it multiple times in different situations and its very consistent and repeated.

So right now i can’t really dogfight.

Any idea what the problem is?

My system is P4 2.66 with 512 megs of RAM (I believe its 400 DDR but I am not sure), with a GeForce 4 Ti 4200, and 80 Gig Ultra ATA HD. I am running the NVidia drivers from October 03, the 5.2.1.6 build. While not a master machine this system has been extremely solid with all games I’ve tried and a good performer. I am running PS at the recommended settings of 1064x768, 32 bit.

Is this a server problem common to all fighter pilots? Is this a video card / framerate issue (due to the high turning speed of the fighters?). Is this a RAM problem? Or something else?