Radio shows that you love

Personally my favorite radio show is the Ruby the Galactic Gumshoe and various iterations of same.

https://www.zbs.org/index_new.php/store/ruby

I was first turned on to Ruby after my accident. I was confined to a wheelchair in my house. I was flipping through radio stations when I heard this amazing thing. This was in 1990 and so Ruby was pretty much on the radio or nothing. I was enthralled. And no doubt painkillers had something to do with it. Regardless I have been a huge fan since then.

Edit: Stereo headphones a must.

Well. So how about those new moving pictures?

Great idea for a thread! Unfortunately, I’m not good with keeping track of names of radio plays.

The only one I remember is Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. Those were brilliant.

But I heard some other science fiction ones on the BBC that were good, but I never caught their names.

And then when I lived in Seattle, the public radio station there used to have radio plays on once a week, and some were just okay, but others were brilliant. I don’t remember any of their names, sorry.

I haven’t listened to a lot of radio fiction, excepting the immortal

Regarding nonfiction radio shows they functionally count as ‘podcasts’ in my brain, but IMO ‘In Our Time’ is a real gem.

I don’t listen to an awful lot of radio fiction these days, but there are a handful I love:

Chickenman - Spoof/homage of old-time adventure serials. Episodes are very short.

Tom Stoppard did a bunch of radio plays back in the day. Particular favourites are Albert’s Bridge and If You’re Glad I’ll Be Frank

It never technically ran on the radio, but it played a radio show on podcasts : Thrilling Adventure Hour

I find Bragg’s faux naivete too annoying to get on with In Our Time, but I do love a bunch of other Radio 4 stuff:

I’m Sorry I Haven’t A Clue - extremely long running quasi-improv panel show. Origin of the game Mornington Crescent.