So I just picked up Space Rangers 2

…and I’m not doing too well. Any tips?

I’ve made a Human Fighter, since they have mostly good relations with people, and that seemed to be a bigger factor than bankroll/starting crap. However, I’ve been zipping around for a good 2 years of game time and I can’t win a fight to save my life (which it would have, on several occasions). And I’m not talking about the enormous Dominator battleships…I have not yet managed to kill a single pirate ship. Some of them absolutely smoke me, some will just run away once I whittle them down, some will land on a planet and station tank, to borrow a phrase from EvE. I’ve gotten a couple of Dominator kills in fleet actions, but I just don’t feel like my ship is up to anything more than courier missions, and I hate courier missions.

Honestly, I can’t even see an improvement path. I’ve seen two or three items in each category of equipment and maybe the same number of hulls for each race. How the fuck am I supposed to build up my strength?

hire wingmans

I can’t really help you. I was pretty excited about this game too when I read about it in CGM a few years ago, but when I actually got the game, I couldn’t figure out how to stay alive even in the tutorial fight.

To be fair, the CGM review did warn everyone that it had a brutal difficulty curve, but it said something about there being plenty of help available from people online. But I tried to find some kind of forum for advice but was unable to find one. And the people here at Qt3 had already moved on from the game, so I just shrugged and classified the game as “not for me”, aka “games where I have no idea how to get started and can’t be bothered to find out”.