So, NBA 2k11, looks impressive. (PC only)

The only thread I found on this was the NBA Elite one. I’m not one who usually plays basket games if not to recreate Shohoku into it, but someone told me to look at it just because of how visually impressive it is.

This also due to the fact that modders are all over it and releasing all sort of crazy graphic updates. Basically:
1- Shadows/video filters. (shaders effects and such)
2- Jerseys. (this applies better self-shadows on players)
3- Stadium textures & reflections.

The results are quite impressive and especially when it moves it often makes you forgot you’re playing a game and not watching the real thing (watch some match videos on youtube, they are impressive).

Now I’m far from a basket expert, but this game is also filled with hundred of options and seems to have a HUGE depth of gameplay. It’s also relatively accessible considering I’m having fun by just learning the most basic moves.

Beside the fact this is a sport game and so being its own niche I don’t think I’ve seen a more impressive game all around in the whole year, if not ever. It should be GOTY (beside some annoyances in the way the menus work).

Another couple images. And I stress again that this may as well scream uncanny valley in a few cases, but what is actually impressive is not the graphic detail, but the animations that are so smooth and lifelike. If you don’t see this moving you don’t understand why I’m so awed.

I’ve never seen this level of graphic+animations blend.

I checked it out on YouTube. Some of the stuff looks pretty nice. They must have spent a lot of time making star-specific animations: you can almost tell it’s LeBron or Nash handling the ball, and a I saw a pretty convincing Dwight Howard counter move under the basket. Do they include 20 gigs of commentary, or do they just have the team-specific stuff during the beginning of the game?