The actual Empire: Total War thread

Is what this is. Yo. Not previews, naw. Real deal here.

So anyway, the entire internet is spooging about it. 9s and 9.5s popping up like daisies. I’m getting excited enough to consider buying it right away even though I have yet to even launch the Civ IV Complete I bought during the recent Steam sale. I’m easily impressionable. Also I cashed in $100 worth of change recently.

Anyone played it yet? If so, what’d’ja think?

Pre-ordered prior to seeing reviews. I just saw IGN give a 9.5, though I have trusted reviews less and less these days. Still, that puts hope in my heart that this will be a Total War game worth playing more than 1 campaign on. Shogun is still the best of any, I’d say, and I am hoping this will provide the same entertainment.

Preordered also… Cannot wait. I played Medieval to death, but sadly never got into M2TW or Rome much… Looking to get back in about now.

-Chris

I started playing a Byzantium M2TW:Crusades campaign last week in preparation for this. The Turks are almost gone, now I need to take the remaining Anatolian territory away from Antioch and Jerusalem.

Not giving in the hype …for once:D

I will wait for Steam sales or something.

Gah! No steam preload anymore. How long does it take to download 15 gigs from a steam content server being hammered into crashing every few minutes? I’m excited for the game as well… I just don’t expect to have it downloaded until the weekend at earliest given the steam’s track record with non preloading major releases.

I just bought the bastard on Steam. Got carried away. Oh well :-D

Grr, people in the other thread are saying the game is too lethal (people die too fast or have to die too much before morale breaks, etc.), and the game “will have to be modded.” Poop. How true is this? Everyone says Civ IV is finally decently balanced with Beyond the Sword… does it really take that long?