The Mushroom Thread (for Craig)

@CraigM has been dropping all these awesome pics and stories of his mushroom hunting in miscellaneous threads and I finally went out today and got some of my own, so I think it’s time to start what will hopefully be a thread of avoiding death by identifying wild mushrooms that are edible

We got some chantrelles, some bolletes, some oyster mushrooms and a few miscellaneous.

I’m using this book to help me identify:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0898153883

Today, we left several on the trail b/c we couldn’t identify them but did get a decent haul. We’re not sure how good the deer mushrooms are (there are thousands of them out there), so we only grabbed a few to try them out.

Those are excellent looking, especially the boletes and chanterelles. I’m not a forager, but I know a few I used to buy from when I was a real chef. Now I’m jonesing to give them a call.

So upon further reading / researching how to cook, etc, we decided we’re not 100% sure of what the “deer mushrooms” are and decided for now to not eat them. Here are some closeups. Maybe Craig has ID’d these by now.

We did slice up a few of the Zeller Bolettes and sauteed them in olive oil. OMG. Amazing mushrooms. We all loved them.

Nice! Very cool, and thanks for starting!

So the website I use primarily identification on is:
http://www.alpental.com/psms/PNWMushrooms/PictorialKey/

And this is the book I have to bring with when foraging

And as always the important thing is be sure!