Tips on writing to artists

Alright, everyone, I’m totally new here, and I figured this would be a good place to get feedback. I’m a college student writing a professional paper for an advanced English class in the field which I plan on entering. Well, games is that field, and I felt that maybe the professional paper I could write would be a how-to on interactions between programmers and artists. I realize that most of the confusion is probably in relating technical issues to artists, but then, there could be problems the other way round.

My paper is titled “Talking to Artists: a Guide for Programmers dealing with non-technical discourse.” I have been thinking maybe I could have chosen a better subject, but I’d like to see what your various thoughts are. Do you have tips on how to talk with artists if you’re a programmer? If you are an artist, are there things that are difficult to explain to a programmer? (If I get enough feedback, I might do the inverse paper as well.) Is this even an issue any of you have trouble with? And if so, how did you go about solving it?

So far the guide is very short, basically saying that programmers, in my inexperienced opinion, need to remove math and get to the function of what their program actually does. The other thought, just musing on this issue now, is how often must programmers actually talk about their work with artists? I work in Flash, and there’s a medium level of interest, but my little company works in one room together as well, so whenever we get tired, we go look at what another person is doing.

Alright, I’ve rambled enough. Hopefully this piques interest even a little, and any response, however short, would be quite appreciated. Thanks a lot.

Randy

Ok, I’m wanting to go back to Vampire: Bloodlines The Masquerade and play it with the newest 3.0 unofficial patch.