What happened to unemployment in 2008?

Here is the unemployment rate over the last ten years:

http://data.bls.gov/generated_files/graphics/latest_numbers_LNS14000000_2006_2016_all_period_M07_data.gif

What happened in 2008? Is that just what a recession looks like? Wouldn’t the change in unemployment be more gradual? Does the housing crisis share any of the blame for that?

Can someone explain that spike as if you were talking to a small child with a tenuous grasp on economics?

-Tom

If it’s any consolation*, the decrease is probably far less than it appears, once you factor in underemployment and workers who have given up seeking!

* It’s not! Hooray!

I lack the economics background to provide an answer to your actual question that would be particularly illuminating, so we’ll just have to wait until someone comes around with the Hard Factz.

I’m not an expert, merely someone who follows these things somewhat closely.

To get to your point about ‘is this what a recession looks like’, basically yes, exactly that. Now not all will look the same, this one merely had several negative feedback loops increasing the severity.

So short version: there are a lot of bad bank assets out there, ones that are being misrepresented to various places in regards to security. These things are basically housing loans that have been chopped up into thousands of pieces, an individual’s housing loan may be spread among dozens of securities, and sold.

Mortgage Backed Securities (which are what I will refer to as securities from here out) are basically a bundle of many fragments of loans. Any individual security will have a tiny percentage of an individual loan, with many loans compiled together. These are then sold to pension funds, various investment firms, etc. There is a risk, and a certain rate of default baked into them. That way if any individual loan defaults it has a small impact on many investors, instead of big impact on a few.