WiFi extender/repeater/mesh

I’ve been using an Asus AC1900 router for a few years and have been happy with it. With the work-from-home order and school closings, I have people streaming classes and meetings in more remote parts of the house, and WiFi signal strength has become a problem.

A couple years ago Amazon ran a good sale on a mesh network set of cubes. I purchased them to extend my WiFi but was disappointed to discover that they did not work with existing routers; rather the base cube was itself a router, and they replace the existing network entirely. I experienced some WiFi lockups, so I gave the cubes away and returned to my Asus router.

In 2020 is there a way to reasonably extend my home WiFi without replacing my existing router/network?

Asus does a thing where you can add another Asus router to create a mesh. It may work with yours. I’ve not tried it myself though, and supposedly it doesn’t work as well as dedicated solutions like an Orbi/Eero/Ubiquiti setup.

Failing that, would powerline or MoCa be an option?

It does. I’m using it, it’s fine.

Yes and it should work with his router also, which is essentially the same thing as your RT-AC68u.

So the idea would be to add another identical router (AC1900)?

Looking at that product page on Amazon, I see they also sell a “AC1900 Repeater” which purports to be part of the AiMesh system. My impression is this is a way to get the AiMesh network going without buying a full-fledged router. Does this sound right?

It sounds right, but I’d suggest reading more about it before buying.

Also, they don’t have to be identical routers. Just Asus, and recent enough to have compatible firmware/hardware.

If it says it works with AIMesh then it should do the trick. Google it first, do your due diligence.