Heaven or Hell: Talking About Guilty Gear

We’ve had some scattered talk in the fighting games catch-all thread or the weekend thread or the like, but Strive just came out and I think at least a few of us here are playing it, so let’s have a dedicated thread for the series.

For the uninitiated, Guilty Gear is a long-running fighting game series with a gonzo sci-fi/fantasy/metal/anime aesthetic. I’m still relatively new to it myself, but have been playing quite a bit of

over the past couple months. This is a much older entry, but it’s been rereleased several times and updated with rollback netcode that does a great job of avoiding the lag and delay disruptions that commonly disrupt a lot of the online fighting games I’ve tried.

Anyway, I’m a few hours into Strive, and having a lot of fun with it, as despite some launch-day matchmaking and connection issues, it feels great once I’m actually into a match, and of course it looks and sounds fantastic. It’s taking some time to adjust to the different pacing compared to +R, but I think I might like it more overall as there’s just a tiny bit more time to react to things, which I appreciate.

I started with Axl, as he’s been my main in +R, but am going to try and give each of the characters a fair shake in these first few weeks.

Anybody else dive in yet?

Yes indeed, and I’m maining Zato. I never imagined that would happen, but here I am. ;)

Strive is great. Looks amazing, more accessible than the previous games in the series in terms of controls and number of moves, but still deep enough for those who put the time in training. I’m having a ton of fun.

I just wish the single player had more “oomph” (or perhaps that it would be more generous with W$ rewards). But I’m really enjoying the game.

Set aside 5 hours to watch the story mode to see what the first 5 DLC characters they’ll sell you will be.

My first impressions:

Starting the game up takes a full minute. This is too long.

Things I don’t like about the game: