Kemet play-by-forum game


#441

I will recall


#442

I will be sticking this one out, yes. Unfortunately, it does not bring me to 8 VP, but it does take away 1 from ironwulf, so a little pressure off.

Small Correction, I was at 13 Strength for that battle, not 12. I also had a priest along for an extra protection. Does not change the outcome, but it is important to realize there is a priest with that troop. Because now that troop is at 11 Strength with abilities because the priest as +1 Strength on defense.

@Infested_terran


#443

Sheesh, I was just politely trying to finish up the game before @malkav11 has to go out of town in a few more days and you guys just won’t cooperate! ;)


#444

Just to be clear, “sticking this one out” means not recalling. I am holding the Delta Temple.


#445

2nd action: recruit 2 unit in Lantz city, 5 on my blue pyramid
10->3 PP

@Lantz


#446

2nd action, recruit 5+scorpion to my white pyramid. PP 6 > 1

@ironwulf


#447

**2nd Action
Buy Black Power Tile **
Forced March - May use golden action token for a Move/Attack action

PP 10 > 7

@Greatatlantic


#448

I start off my turn with this: image

I will give @ironwulf, @Lantz, and @Infested_terran a chance to cancel it if they have the DI card.

Also, @malkav11, can we get an updated board? Plus, I would like to know how many battle cards each player has remaining.


#449

I do nothing


#450

I twiddle my thumbs and do nothing


#451

You were actually at 11 PP, now 4, by my count. I think you might have missed the PP you get refunded for recalling the one unit you had left at the Delta temple after the battle.


You have 8 battle cards, Ironwulf and Lantz have 6, Infested_terran has 4.


#452

Alright. Lantz, I hope you were NOT (edit, forgot to add the not) sitting on the other void and would have used it.

I now use my Hare Object which gives me +1 Movement.

I do action Move.

I send my Priest down the Ta-Set middle path and pick up the defense object.

PP: 4 +1 = 5.

I teleport Polyphemus and his 2 normal units onto 3 Temple West. I now have 3 movement points to spend, which will be to attack Infested Terrain at Lantz’s Black 4 Pyramid. I am going to move 6 units, including the priest, for this attack. This leaves 1 normal unit behind at 3 Temple West.

PP: 5 - 1 = 4

I plan on playing that Shield Object I just picked up. I will be sending my battle card and DI cards to @malkav11. However, in case you use Escape or have any objects you want to play (I don’t think you have any, but I could be wrong), I reserve the right to change my choice.

Strength is 6, Polyphemus canceled by Snake, +1 thanks to Charge!, +1 Thanks to Blades of Nieth. +1 Protection due to Priest.

So, @Infested_terran.


#453

Actually @Greatatlantic I don’t think you can move in quite that way.
Rules state that you can never have more than 1 creature in a space and Three Temple West already had Cerberus. So you wouldn’t be able to teleport Polyphemus there, unless I’m missing something?


#454

Hmmm… You can never have more than one creature with a troop, but Cerebus does not join a troop. He specifically guards a space. Sort of how the Kraken does not qualify as a traditional creature despite having a figure. I’ll see if Board game geek has any pointers.


#455

The Kraken occupies a space that is never entered by a traditional troop, though. I couldn’t find anything that specifically addressed moving a troop with another creature through Cerberus’ space but there were a couple answers that indicated he counts as a creature in the space and thus would prevent other creatures from being in his space.


#456

Well, I can’t find any rule clarifications for Cerberus. From a mechanics point, I’d lean towards it being a space feature, but apparently the rules explicitly say one creatures per space, not troop.

So, I’ll defer the moderator. Unfortunately, that means my script for this round is completely blown and I have a very weak force dangling should anybody grab the phoenix or open gate. So, I need to rethink my turn, at the very least to make sure I’m not playing king maker. Unfortunately, it is my bedtime, so expect a new turn tomorrow around 6 EST.


#457

Yeah, it would have been a clever and possibly game winning plan but I don’t think it’s legal, alas.


#458

Darn that’s a real shame.


#459

Yeah, if infested terran pulled out the win, he would have immediately won the game. I was OK with that, being that if I could not win I would probably lose the game anyways. Plus, I liked my odds.

First off, a point of book keeping, shouldn’t Infested Terrain’s Khunx Sphinx spawned with his troops in his city?

Second, my new and probably not as good turn but one the moderator will allow:

I take everything I did before back.

I still move. Except this I travel down the bottom Ta Seti Path and picking up the temporary +1 Damage and 1 PP. I immediately pick up the other Hare object.

I play both Hare objects giving me +2 Movement, which is enough to move 4 troops (including priest) out of 3 Temple West, leaving behind Cerberus with 1 troop. I move those troops to join Polyphemus in my city with the red pyramid. NOW I teleport the entire troop… but the only target I have is 2 Temple East. Combat breaks out. I have 6 troops +1 for Polyphemus, +1 for Charge, and +1 for BoN for a base value of 9. I also have +1 Protection thanks to the Priest skill, and +1 Damage due to the Ta-Seti Path.

PP: 4 + 1 - 1 = 4.

Unless somebody finds a rule interpretation/violation I missed, it is @ironwulf again to send cards to @malkav11.

So, to expand upon my thinking, if Cerberus is a creature, he behaves like no other creature in the game, except kind of the Kraken. The rules explicitly tie him to one space. So, he cannot follow a troop around. Furthermore, placement only requires “control,” so a player can place him in his city without troops, presumably to protect a level 4 pyramid.

Hence, it already violates the rule that a creature must always be accompanied by a troop. The argument for him being a creature is he comes with a miniature. Had the tile come with a cardboard token to show which space he is protecting, I do not think there would be a rules argument.

I am not saying that to overturn the decision, it is made, it is done, let us continue, but to explain my thoughts behind it. Also, if I ever own Cyclades and play Kemet with the C3K expansion, I am totally house ruling Cerberus as a not-creature.


#460

The thing is, there are no effects that put tokens on the map or affect it in any direct way outside of creatures. The Kraken is a creature. Cerberus is a creature. They operate more outside the usual creature rules than most of the others, but they only violate them in the explicit ways their powers stipulate, and so the Kraken’s effect would be cancelled by the Deep Desert Snake, and Cerberus blocks other creatures entering that space. It’s internally consistent.

Also, you are correct that Khnum’s Sphinx should have spawned when Bastet recruited in his city.