Recording In-Game Video (FRAPS Alternative?)

Hey folks, I’m writing because I have a frustrating problem for which I could use some advice. I’m trying to record video of the DOS version of TIE Fighter for my blog. Now typically I’ve been using FRAPS, which so far hasn’t given me any problems. However, when I try to record video within TIE Fighter, the game slows to a freaking crawl. This happens at both 320 and 640 resolutions, and all sorts of different DOSBox setties have been tried to no avail.

I was therefore wondering if y’all knew of something I could try to fix this, or some other method of recording in-game video along with my voice, if possible. I need something simple since I’ve no experience with audio mixing or any of that nonsense. :/ If there’s also another program that might work to replace FRAPS in this instance, I’d be happy to hear that too.

Thanks! :)

Huh, snagit does video capture now? Hhmmm…

Non-free: X-Split (in addition to producing in-game local recordings, it’s also built to stream to sites like Twitch.tv, Ustream, etc.), as the upgraded editions offer improved resolutions and audio codecs. Also integrates well with AverMedia capture cards and such if/when you get serious and setup a second PC to do the capture from the first.

Free: OBS, a recently popular alternative. IIRC, it’s getting close to feature parity, but has some stability issues.

Ohhhhh, thank you Armando, this is intriguing. And one can actually set up a second PC to capture from? Wow.

Heck, it looks like newer versions of the cards I was thinking of even work on the local PC (although you’ll need a pretty beefy CPU to capture 1080p of high-end games, even with a capture card taking on some of the load).

http://www.amazon.com/AVerMedia-C985-Gamer-1080p-Capture/dp/B007UXJ6LE/ref=sr_1_3?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1360814086&sr=1-3&keywords=HDMI+capture+card+blackmagic

I’m sorry I let you down.

Aawww, it’s okay. hugs

Ohhh, that’s gorgeous…