Self-Indulgent Game Designer Begins Career as Self-Indulgent Ex-Game Designer

One week ago, I left the games industry. I waited a week to talk or write much about it just to be sure I didn’t go scampering back to it like a frightened squirrel, heartbeat racing, eyes bulging with terror. But I haven’t. This could stick.

I walked into the industry in January of 1999, through the door marked “nepotism.” I did QA, until some designers with better things to do asked me to start fixing content bugs myself. Soon enough, had learned the design tools and they started asking me to design stuff as well. A long fourteen years later I was a lead game designer.

I have worked my whole career in the relative industry backwater of Denver/Boulder, Colorado. I’ve worked a team of 8, and on a team of 80. The games I worked on, you haven’t played. More than half were never even released. None were hits. Perhaps one was profitable, barely.

I am neither a visionary nor a genius. “Workmanlike” is a fair description of my output. I helped make games for studios that made games for publishers, who paid the bills and selected the projects. I worked on several games I’m very proud of, but had my doubts about all of them, at the time.

There are many eminent game designers and developers on this board who can tell you about good game development, good game design, and tell good stories about exciting projects. But perhaps my experience is more typical, and less spoken of.

It’s self-indulgent, I know, and I hope you’ll forgive me for wanting to somehow mark the occasion and to manufacture an excuse to reflect, but I thought if anyone had any questions about what it’s like in the kind of career I just described, you can ask in this thread and I’ll answer candidly.

I have worked in a lot of different jobs - but the one thing I have found to be true - I either loved the job but the people I worked with not so much – or I loved the people I worked with but not the job.