So err, Japanese Toilets

We in the west have a long, long way to catch up.

Computerized potty? Man, I am glad I am not an IT pro in Japan.

Finally, a plumber who can justify $200 an hour.

“Hal, lift the warmed toilet seat Hal.”

Dude, I totally installed Linux on my toilet.

Well wipe it off, that’s disgusting.

Segmentation Fault.
Core Dumped.

Apparently that’s a…wireless control panel?

I’m all in favor of high-tech toilets, and we must not continue to allow a toilet gap, but I don’t quite understand why a toilet needs a remote control for the built-in bidet nozzles. Aside from prank purposes, I mean.

Hack the toilet.

I’m glad they even made mention of the Sound Princess. When my brother and his wife went to Japan, she thought it was hilarious that a woman in the stall next to her was listening to the ocean or something.

But I agree that America’s toilet market is painfully lacking.

Step 1: Identify Market with growth capacity.

Step 2: Crazy Toilet Business plan.

Step 3: PROFIT!!!

Can The 3 Seashells be far behind?

I’d be happy if American toilets just flushed reliably.

Things that irk me: North American Low Flow Toilets.

I’m all for saving water, but these things don’t seem to work that well. I like the Aussie toilets. You can push for a half flush when you don’t need full power, and can select for a full flush when you just know you need to give it the full treatment. Having it play tunes, spray out a preleasant scent while you select these actions through a sophisticated remote control with Hello Kitty on it would just be an added bonus.

Toto does sell toilets in America. You can get one, they’re very nice, even the ones that have no frills (not even heated seats!) still flush better than American ones.